DJ Babu Interview by Preach Jacobs @ Vapors Magazine

babupress_pic-540x359
*hey, this is an interview i did w/ dj babu for vapors magazine back last november. some folks haven’t seen it, so i felt it’ll be cool to post it up. enjoy.*
DJ Babu Interview @ Vapors Magazine Words by: Preach Jacobs

It may be safe to say that hip-hop years are similar to dog years. The longer you’re in the industry the faster time seems to fly by. The next thing you know there are more pups fighting to get the attention that you once received without much effort. But for DJ Babu, the dog-eat-dog game of hip-hop doesn’t affect him one bit. Fresh off the release of Duck Season 3,’ Babu solidifies a reputation that most producer/djs can only dream of. Tune in and listen to a legend.

Today so many rappers want to sing, and now you see a lot of producers wanting to rap. Is that something you may want to do in the future?
Hell no! I don’t even have the balls to do the Pete Rock thing in the background. *laughs*

Why don’t rappers want to rap anymore? I mean, Kanye found auto-tuner and Phonte barely rapped on Foreign Exchange. But I’m not mad ’cause Phonte sounds great.
Yea, I’m not mad at hearing Phonte sing. I feel what he’s doing and I never want to limit any artists. If someone tells me not to do something, I’ll do it to spite them. So, yea, I just don’t want to hear athletes rap.

Being a DJ that’s been involved with the turntablism movement; how do you feel about the digital age, more specifically programs like Serato?
I’m for it. A lot of OGs took a while to get on it, but in this day in age if you want to do this professionally you have to use the advantages. Everything from Pro-Tools to Serato, we didn’t have back in the day. Everything we did was makeshift. We should be grateful and embrace technology. I still spend tons of dough on vinyl, but across the board I’m digital out. After looking at every angle and dues I paid, I deserve to use the technology and have it further my career.

Tell me about Duck Season 3.

Well, on the first and second installments, I’ve only produced one or two cuts. This time I produced the whole thing. Its hard rhymes, dope scratching and dope beats, things we’re known for.

It’s hard to have people not appreciate the effort especially seeing how dedicated you are to hip-hop. Has there ever been a time where you wanted to hang it up?
I got to the point I was looking at the bank account and was on the verge of applying to the Apple Store. It’s hard ‘cause reality is I didn’t go to college, there’s no ‘plan b.’ My college years was my time at Capitol records and DJ battles. My whole life is hip-hop culture. My day starts with a turntable and record somehow, and I have to lead with a lot of blind faith. Now, I need to worry about health insurance for my kids, you know? But nothing makes me feel the way I do from working on music, and hopefully that shows.

